A Tale of an Angry Blogger on LinkedIn

grumpy-93945_1280

I have recently encountered an exceptionally grumpy article on LinkedIn. The author was raging mad, describing in all the gory details how LinkedIn wronged him and promising that this was going to be his last post on LinkedIn. The reason for his wrath? He believes LinkedIn lost his draft blog post after he repeatedly saved it.

Now, I understand how upsetting a situation like this can be, as can anybody who has ever lost a Word document without saving the fruit of their labor. So I am not questioning the validity of his emotional reaction. Neither am I debating that there are still some kinks in LinkedIn publishing platform that need to be worked out and some features that need to be added.

However, I don’t think that he served himself or the online community all too well by choosing such a distinctly negative and intense tone for the article.

First, is having a very public meltdown (on a professional social media platform of all places) wise? Is a potential client or employer more or less likely to get in touch with him after they go to his profile and discover his rant? Great many would be hesitant to invite a person to do work for them or to join their team if there is evidence that the person blows up at a drop of a hat. Inability to control one’s own emotions and a poor judgement demonstrated by making this lack of self-control available for all to see are hardly desirable qualities in a consultant or an employee. 

Second, is viciously attacking a company for discovering a bug in their platform fair? While noone aspires to have bugs in their software, bugs do happen. As long as the company reacts to the end user feedback quickly and takes resolving the problem seriously – they are all right in my book. Tearing them apart in public doesn’t help anybody.

Lastly, this is such a minor thing in a grand scheme of things. Let’s save our rage for something worthy of it. I have a friend who has developed a great way to react to life’s little setbacks. Whenever something upsetting happens, Tim asks: “Is this life threatening?” If the answer is no, he chooses not to get upset.

I have mentioned the concept of kind social media in my earlier post – and I am convinced that trying to stay positive in challenging situations as well as being respectful and forgiving would serve the online community infinitely better. You have noticed that I did not provide a link to the article that prompted me to write my post, nor did I mention the name of the author. My goal is not to bring negative publicity to his door step but to show that by being kinder, one creates a win-win outcome for all involved.

Enjoyed this article? Please share, comment, like and follow this blog. Looking for a LinkedIn trainer, consultant or speaker? Email me: maria.facilitator@gmail.comInterested in more LinkedIn advice? Connect with me on LinkedIn and follow me on Twitter

 

2 thoughts on “A Tale of an Angry Blogger on LinkedIn”

  1. Ouch. As you said, it’s not a good idea to leave that kind of rant out there for people to see. Especially if they are an employer or a potential work partner.

    I see the same thing in some LinkedIn discussion groups. People get upset at someone else’s comment and vent their anger on others in the same group. That anger is then available for anyone to see for a very, very, very LONG time.

    Ouch. Slow down, take a deep breath and respond politely, that would be my advice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Typical of histrionic reaction to 1st world problems. By that I mean that the reaction is out of proportion to the real nature of the ill. That of course is your whole thesis, I think. I have some friends, whom I dearly love, that live in a rather precarious and underdeveloped corner of the planet. I try to keep them in mind when I am losing my temper over things like blog posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

